Dear Lovebug,

10 Jun

What have you done with my darling daughter who loved to sleep through the night. I fear you have kidnapped her and I want her back. You were doing so well. Why must you add a 3am feeding, and last night a midnight one? I will chalk it up to a growth spurt for now. Or maybe teething? But please, let’s figure this out STAT and get our ol’ Emberly back. I miss her so.

Love,
Mom

I know it’s purely selfish for me to want her to sleep through the night, so sue me. I think a happy mom is a better mom…and this mom needs sleep. Ems day care provider did mention that she thought she might be teething. Apparently she had really red cheeks for a bit yesterday which can be a sign. I’m secretly hoping that is what’s going on. Although, we may have to adjust our breastfeeding situation then. Momma’s nipples go through enough with the feedings and the pumpings. Bite marks don’t suit me well.  I know this would be the start to a horrendous season of teeth budding and playing peek-a-boo, but at least then we’d have a reason. Of course, she’ll probably end up being like her mom and aunts and cousin and not get teeth until closer to a year. Either way, we need to figure something out. Tonight will only be worse. We have shots at 1:15 and then our 4 month check-up (plus a little, “how’s the zoloft treating you” meeting) at 4:15. Hopefully the Tylenol bides me a few more hours of sleep tonight. And yes, I’m one of those moms who will drug her baby, but only for the sake of her feeling better (and maybe to stay quiet on a flight).

So my loyal followers 😉 Any suggestions on how to handle these newly accustomed feedings?

P.S. I want to point out that while I would love some much needed sleep, I wouldn’t trade anything in the world for the problems we’re facing now. I know how lucky we are to have a healthy living child and I thank the higher powers that be for her everyday…even at 12am, 1:30am, 3:30am and 4:45am this morning.

One Response to “Dear Lovebug,”

  1. gorillabuns June 10, 2009 at 9:00 pm #

    mama doesn’t like not having her beauty sleep either. it sucks and with every kid, i swear i slightly more insane and more fat from sleep deprivation!

Leave a Reply

