Lesson of the day

13 Jan

Keep up on writing down your child(ren)’s milestones.
I was all proud of myself for getting a Baby’s 1st Year calendar. I thought that surely I would do a better job at filling it out if it were in calendar form. I mean, how hard can it be to just fill things in as they happen on a calendar?! (I mean, this thing even has stickers, STICKERS to mark special occasions!) Apparently, extremely hard. I have to catch up from October! I know there was something special about October 19th, but I have no flipping clue what it was I wanted documented. This poor child is going to be amazed that she accomplished anything since there will be hardly any record kept.
“But MOM, obviously I learned how to walk, I’m walking right now.”
“Yes Emberly, but it’s not noted in the calendar, so you definitely have not learned to walk yet. Sorry sweetie. Maybe next year.”
Please people, learn from me. Document, document document…in a timely fashion. Don’t let your child become a non-accomplishing mess like mine.

In my defense, some of the stickers are stupid. Who really cares when she watched a video? Maybe the first time she quoted a movie, now that’s worth noting.
Oh, and we’re probably not going to be able to use the “First haircut” sticker until she’s 12, so that’s a waste.
And could some of these come with descriptions?! “First coo,” WTF? She came out making noises. I have yet to hear her say “coo.” And “First meal out.” Out of where? The womb, ’cause that would be the day she was born. Out of the house? Out of the house where she got to eat the food from the place we went out of the house?!?!

7 Responses to “Lesson of the day”

  1. Devon January 13, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    LOL this made me giggle. I have the SAME EXACT PROBLEM. I sat down to fill out lj’s baby book a couple of days ago. I was able to figure out most of it (hadn’t filled it out since October too)… but I got to the tooth page- I have NO CLUE when her teeth came in. I remember that her first tooth came in and three days later the 2nd one came in, but I have no clue when that was! Maybe I’ll just rip that page out of the book? šŸ˜‰

    • insertwittytitleheremomstired January 14, 2010 at 9:09 am #

      That’s my exact problem too Dev! I know that just a few days after the first one, the second tooth popped. I have my DCP wracking her brain today trying to see if she can remember when it happened. We’re both willing to say the beginning of December and then act like we knew all along.

  2. moosh in indy. January 13, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    First movie she quoted…Madagascar.

    “YOU! HIGHER MAMMAL!”

    Ah, sweet memories.

    • insertwittytitleheremomstired January 14, 2010 at 9:09 am #

      That’s a great movie to quote! My luck, Emberly will quote Dazed and Confused…alright alright alright.

  3. Nancy January 14, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    What? I have written down something for every single day of Mikey’s existence. (hahahahaha) I think I have one of those baby books somewhere. It’s probably been about 7 months since I’ve looked at it.

    • insertwittytitleheremomstired January 14, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

      I’m so glad I’m not alone on this. I always loved looking back at my baby book. I can’t believe how motivated my mom was with two older children! Nothing like making you feel even more lazy. Thanks mom!

  4. gorillabuns January 15, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

    sister, i have the first 3 months captured of my 6 years old. a baby book has been purchased for my second and well, 15 pictures were taken of my 3rd.

    i say you are doing a mighty fine job!

Leave a Reply

