Happy Birthday my sweet sweet Love!

15 Feb

I can’t believe it’s been a year since I practically forced your father to take me to the hospital just to see if these pains were doing anything. He was positive they were just Braxton Hicks and that we’d be sent home. I thought he might be right, but I didn’t want to wait until my appointment the following afternoon to find out.
Lo and behold, I was 6 cm dilated and you were on your way. A little over an hour from arriving at the ER, you were being held in by the nurse so that the doctor could make it there in time from his interrupted dinner to catch you. You screamed in to this world a whopping 5 pounds 15 ounces and 18 1/2 inches long.
Your daddy went to the waiting room to announce that you had indoor plumbing, but it was cool. You had him wrapped around your finger from the get go.
One whole year. We’ve made it this far and I love you more and more each day. I can’t wait to see what the future holds for you as you’ve grown so much in the last 365 days. I know that you hold the world in your hands and you will be amazing.
I love you now and forever,
Mom

6 Responses to “Happy Birthday my sweet sweet Love!”

  1. Jo February 15, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    Happy Birthday Miss Em and to you too Amanda – I always think how special a child’s birthday is for a mother. Hope you are both having a fantastic day!

    • insertwittytitleheremomstired February 16, 2010 at 9:37 am #

      Thanks Jo. It’s such a bittersweet day.

  2. Devon February 15, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    Where has the year gone?

    Hope Em had the very best 1st birthday!

    xoxoxoxo!

    • insertwittytitleheremomstired February 16, 2010 at 9:38 am #

      Besides being sick, she had a fantastic day. She was finally able to play with all of her friends at daycare.

  3. gorillabuns February 18, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    Happy Birthday! The love between girls and their fathers are an amazing sight to see.

    Congrats to you mom for making it through the first year.:)

    • insertwittytitleheremomstired February 18, 2010 at 10:18 am #

      Thanks Shana. Like you, I just can’t wait for her adolescent years 😉 I’m sure she’ll be worse than I was. Is it too early to start bi-polar meds?
      Here’s to a wonderful first year for you to experience.

Leave a Reply

