Baby steps!

29 Apr

Me, not Emberly. She’s been full out walking for weeks now. Oh yeah, maybe I should have blogged about that.
Anywho, I’m talking about mental health baby steps. I had my yearly “getting to know your doctor intimately” visit at the beginning of this month. I was able to break down in front of her for the second time since meeting her less than 6 months ago. She was willing to up my Zoloft to 100 mg. I felt the 50 mg had been working for the first few months. Lately, however, I just felt immune to it. Sadness and despair had crept back in. I’ve been unable to get excited about thing, except those Emberly related, b/c I was afraid of getting my hopes crushed. My doctor also suggested that I find a therapist to see.
Hi, I work for the local mental health center. Therapists aren’t actually in huge supply for me. I’m sorry, but I’m not going to cry on someone’s couch and then have to work out next month’s schedule with them later in the week. Not happening.
So I actually did the responsible thing and contacted my insurance company. They had a whopping 3 therapists/psychologists they covered in my “area.” read: over and hour drive one way. Gawd, have I mentioned how much I LOVE living in the middle of nowhere? No? Hmm, well, I LURVE it. The price these therapists charged on top of the two+ hours of drive time for a short hour session, persuaded me to stop looking.
Don’t fret, dear reader, for today I have made an appointment! I was able to find a wonderful therapist who actually has an office in BFE that comes highly recommended from a former coworker. What a glorious day it is. I have an appointment scheduled with the therapist (clever nickname to follow) next Friday. From our phone conversation alone, I feel this will be a great adventure. I’m so looking forward to being healthy mentally. I can’t remember the last time I was.
Hang with me peeps, I hope to chronicle my roller coaster ride of divulging personal secretive information to a paid stranger. Wait, it might be more rewarding for me to just hire a male gigolo to listen to my problems. At least then I could get sexually satisfied as well, right? I’ll see how my husband feels about that.

2 Responses to “Baby steps!”

  1. Nancy May 5, 2010 at 5:52 am #

    You know I’m proud of you. Let’s sit at the front of the rollercoaster and hold hands high in the air as we go on this ride!

    • insertwittytitleheremomstired May 5, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

      I have a feeling there will be quite a few times we’d prefer an actual roller coaster to the emotional one we’ll be on. However, I will ride anything with you. It’s more fun and usually easier to do when you’re not alone.

Leave a Reply

