We’ve survived two years!

17 Mar

It’s effing amazing people. I’m going to be honest, there were times I wasn’t sure any of us would survive another day. Apparently, raising a child isn’t all rainbows and puppy dogs…that’s not totally true. We’ve dealt with rainbow colored pukes and ‘blow outs’ that would rattle even the most experienced kennel worker. It’s totally been worth it. (Isn’t that what parents are supposed to say?) In all seriousness, I could not imagine my life without Emberlou. Okay, fine, I could imagine it, but I’m pretty sure my kidneys and liver would be failing. I love her to pieces. What scares the shit out of me is what’s to come. The terrible twos have hit, and hit hard. From all of my ‘experienced’ mommy friends, 3 and 4 are even worse. Let’s not even try picturing what my offspring will be like in adolescence. ::shudder:: For now, let’s focus on the happy.

We recently (a month ago. shut it!) had Emberly’s 2nd birthday party. And since there is yet to be a rehab facility for toddlers and their parents wanting to come off of NickJr. programming, we had a Yo Gabba Gabba party. Yippee.

Let’s start with the free stuff, courtesy of my cheapass going to NickJr.com:

Invites! (sorry for the links and not pictures. Apparently NickJr covets their pictures)

Goody Bags!

Moving on. I found some great things on Etsy!

These awesome Yo Gabba Gabba inspired balloons greeted everyone from our front lawn and all around the house (design by Maryann at RyCreation):

Mommys lil Monsters (apparently no longer in business on Etsy 😦 😦 (she’s so awesome she deserves two sad faces)) made Emberly’s birthday outfit – Foofa shirt with matching tutu:

front

back

entire ensemble!

Don’t judge me for the crappy not-really-representable-entire-ensemble-picture. YOU try getting a good shot of a 2 year old at her party surrounded by well-intentioned annoying family members!

And finally, the thank you card Emberly “signed” the back off and sent to all who attended. A big thank you to Maryann at RyCreation

 

All in all, she got way too much stuff, ate way too much sugar, but I think the party has us ready to tackle another year…or 70 years and one month!

One Response to “We’ve survived two years!”

  1. rach257 March 18, 2011 at 5:23 am #

    Happy Belated Birthday to my precious Emberlou!!!! Ted, Ben and I love you very, very much!!!! and tell your mommy to keep up the blogging! she rocks my world!!

    xoxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

