You’ve got to accentuate the positive

2 Feb

eliminate the negative.
Johnny Mercer was pretty smart there. This is my current motto of which I am living (this week. Note: I have full right to change that motto at any given time with no notice.)

Something was just different on Monday. I had my usual on-call schedule of Monday and Tuesday nights, but this time, I wasn’t stressed come Monday afternoon. In fact, I was barely phased about the possibility of my annoying on-call ringer going off. I noticed I was present more with my family. Tensions didn’t raise to the point of tears as had been the norm in the previous weeks. The times that being on-call did come to the forefront, I was able to shrug it off and continue enjoying my night.

I’m not sure if this new mindset was something I did myself, the fact that I only had Monday and Tuesday on-call until the following Monday, or even if this, dare I say, happiness will last. For now, I’m grabbing hold of it and riding through to the end.

I’ll let you know if it continues on into next week as I have that Monday, Tuesday, Friday and full 24 hour shifts for Saturday and Sunday. For now, I’m going to snuggle up on the couch watching the predicted blizzard move in, maybe making a few snow angels with Ems, and loving the place I’m in…until the next emotional blizzard comes through.

Here’s hoping the rest of you find your own little peaceful moments where the beauty of the untouched snow takes precedence over the blizzard.

Leave a Reply

