Today you are 3

15 Feb

Happy birthday, my sweet Emberly.

You woke up a little earlier than usual, yelling for me. “Mom! Mommy! OHHH Mommy!! There’s a lot of balloons in here!”

We spent the morning playing and opening presents, before heading to daycare.

To make a day as amazing as you, it takes a lot to do. Besides the 45 balloons across your floor, you needed to see it everywhere how loved you are.

You get to top your special day off with a round of gymnastics with your friends.

*****************

There are so many things I want to say to you, about you. Every day you are proving to be one of the most loving, caring, funny people I’m graced to know. Your hugs are strong and filled with such joy. Sometimes I think you can squeeze tighter than me. You feel so intensely which is amazing and heartbreaking. To see the excitement and love in your eyes when were together makes each day more livable.

You are so smart, catching on quickly to most things you see. You speak paragraphs at a time and are mimicking not only what others are saying, but you’re also picking up on their meaning and the way they say it. At least once a day your daddy and I laugh hysterically at the things you tell us, with the things you remember. Each day we are blown away by how amazing you are. Even in those times were you are shaking from anger, we know you are brilliantly loving. The intensity with which you live is something I strive to mimic myself.

You have your own moments, that’s for sure. But in those moments, we realize how strong you are and exactly which traits you’ve inherited from us. You are so kind to your friends and always wanting to share with them. I hope your loyalty continues on.

Today, I love you more than yesterday but not as much as I will tomorrow. You are fantastic and I am so lucky I get to spend this time with you. I can’t wait for our nightly snuggles on the couch, the hugs that require you to wrap your legs around me, and the just one more story request at bedtime.

I love you with all of my heart Emberly. I hope you have an amazing 3rd birthday!

With all my heart,

Mom

3 Responses to “Today you are 3”

  1. rachel February 16, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    aaaaaaaaaaand i am sobbing. SOBBING. Amanda, that was beautiful. your little girl is such a gift…to you and Britt and to the world! You are doing this! She is her own person, but you are raising her to be as loving and FUNNY and smart as she is…just like her mama! I am so blessed to know, and LOVE both of you!

    happy birthday, sweet Embers!!!!

  2. gorillabuns February 21, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    How very sweet. Happy Belated Birthday. It seems that my girl’s birthdays are flying by!

  3. Nancy April 19, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    Such a sweet little girl for a sweet momma!!

Leave a Reply

