Sometimes you are actually doing things right.

19 Jun

Last night before B got home, I was preparing dinner while Emberly watched a new Mickey Mouse Clubhouse. She was reaching for a blanket on the back of the couch, because apparently being in a 72 degree air conditioned living room during a 103 degree day outside was just too cold for her. As she was pulling the blanket down, she unexpectedly crashed backwards onto the floor. Immediate breakdown. Crying, sobbing, wailing.

I picked her up, gave her a hug and asked if she was okay. Of course she wasn’t. I asked if she was hurt or just scared. Naturally, both, although I’m still unsure of what was hurting besides her ego. I put her back on the couch and told her I hoped she was doing better because this was a new Clubhouse!

Red faced, but now laying on the couch under her blankie, she says, “Thank you!”

‘What?’

“Thank you mommy. Thank you for recording the new Mickey for me!”

And even though some may judge me for letting her watch tv a little too much, at that moment, I felt like I was doing things right.

We all need those moments, hopefully more frequently than not, where we feel like we’re actually doing a good job raising our children to be kind, thoughtful, polite individuals.

One Response to “Sometimes you are actually doing things right.”

  1. Rachel (@Rach257) June 20, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

    you know how very much i love this story….
    she is a sweet little mischief girl and i love you both with my whole heart.

Leave a Reply

