People survive having preschool aged children?

19 Oct

I mean, I know they must other wise none of us would be here and they wouldn’t have elementary, middle, high school and college. But, I need to know their secrets!

How is it possible that a face like this

can spend the entire first hour of the morning doing nothing but whining, crying and screaming, in turn making me cry and yell? It makes no sense. Thank god we get these moments of adorableness or I’m not sure any of us would be surviving.
It’s mornings like the one from Monday that I just described that really make me question whether or not I’m cut out for this whole parenting thing. Which, really, I should probably figure this shit out since we’re nearing the arrival of #2 and it seems as 75% of my blog posts are about how tough parenting is.
Occasionally, a brilliant blogger will post about some of their miniscule trials and tribulations with their children and I’ll get a fleeting moment of contentment knowing I’m not alone. The remaining 360 days of the year leave me wondering who the hell thought it was a good idea to let me parent.
I feel like more and more, my patience’s Low Fuel light has been on for longer than allowed. When I am able to fill up my tank, thinking I’m good to go for the next 347 miles, the surge of fresh fuel seems to burn out as quickly as the flame of a lighter run through the washing machine. I fantasize about how happy and breezy my life would/will be if I quit my second job, but truth is, I’m only slightly less maniacal dealing with the whining on the days I don’t have call. Maybe I can still blame it on PTSD from the on-call phone. Once that obnoxious ring is completely out of my life, maybe the tin-y sounds from  mindless commercials won’t trigger a sense of impending phone call doom.

Until we can test that theory, anyone have suggestions on keeping my sanity while limiting, if not eliminating, the whining of a 3-2/3 year old? 4 gets better, right? Just an FYI, alcohol removed wine doesn’t seem to help…stupid pregnancy and fetal-alcohol syndrome awareness. How long does your patience tank stay at a happy level? Do I need to check my hose for a leak? (hehe, you know there’s an inappropriate joke in there. You’re welcome.)

4 Responses to “People survive having preschool aged children?”

  1. Rachel (@Rach257) October 19, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    you know i have no business chiming in on this in all my PTSD/PPD-A/psycho-parenting glory, but i do want to offer support, tell you i love you and say again how friggin’ adorable emberly is in that picture. i am in love with her. and you. both of you. i love to the moon.

    • insertwittytitleheremomstired October 19, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

      Knowing there are people standing behind me to cheer us on is more helpful than you know. I hope I’m not scaring you for the years to come. At least you have a boy, right?!
      To the moon and back!

  2. Kim October 19, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    Awww, I’d watch your adorable daughter anytime you needed a quick break, (if saying that was acceptable on the internet)(if I was close enough).

    You can do it 🙂

    • insertwittytitleheremomstired October 19, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

      I’m pretty sure you can say anything on the internet and it’s appropriate. At least that’s kind of how I feel…as noted by my comments on your blog 😀
      I would welcome you anytime to come watch her, or just hang out. Maybe we should wait until after the baby’s born and THEY could watch US consume some adult beverages.

Leave a Reply

